Ministry of Culture and Tourism

Click on Each Plus Sign to View the Details
The Ministry of Culture and Tourism was established in November 2014 with   Abdulsalam A. Bashir as its Pioneer Commissioner.

Mr. Atosuma James Gani is the current Commissioner, and Musa Gidado is the Permanent Secretary.


Agencies under the Ministry are listed below;

  1. Tourism Board.
  2. Taraba State Arts Council.
  3. Taraba State Hotels Services

 Functions of the Ministry

The Functions of the Ministry are listed below;

  1. Formulation of cultural and tourism potentials.
  2. Advising the Government on cultural matters.
  3. Liaising with other cultural and tourism agencies.
  4. Encourage drama, traditional dances, festival, music, culture and arts.
  5. Promote and undertake research in the fields of travels, marketing and merchandising.
  6. Responsible for the development of Game Reserves, Area Reserves, Holidays Resorts, Amusement Parks, Garden Parks Camp Sites, etc.
  7. Act as tour operators and sales tourists to resorts within and outside the State.
  8. Establishment, management, and regulation of the hospitality industry in the State.
  9. Monitors the activities of hospitality in the State and set standards for them.

Achievements of the Ministry

Notable achievements of the Ministry are listed below;

  1. The observation of the World Tourism Day.
  2. Partaking in the National Festival of Arts and Culture (NAFEST).
  3. Partaking in the African Arts and Craft Expo

The Commissioner

Hon. Atosuma James Gani

Hon. Atosuma James Gani

Hon. Atosuma James Gani was born on April 27th 1972. He hails from Wukari Local Government Area of Taraba State. Hon. Atosuma James Gani is married with three children. He is the current Commissioner Ministry of Culture and Tourism.

Hon. Gani began his early education at Avyi Primary School, Wukari Local Government Area 1984 and Government Day Secondary School Wukari 1988.

He attended the following higher institutions with dates:

  • Spring Computer, Wuse-2011
  • Federal Poly Nasarawa, Nasarawa State-2005
  • FPNNS (Federal Poly Nasarawa, Nasarawa State)-2007
  • FPNNS (Federal Poly Nasarawa, Nasarawa State)q
  • FPNNS(Federal Poly Nasarawa, Nasarawa State)-2014
  • National Teachers Institute-2014
  • Institute of Corporative Administration, Abuja-2011


  • Fellow Corporate Admin Institute Abuja
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Award U.S.A.)
  • Peace Ambassador U.N (Peace FED)
  • Member Presidential Policy Advisory Committee
  • Member (PCRC)

Workshops Attended

  • Material Management Service – Ifora Lagos State
  • Stores Material Management – Keffi, Nasarawa State
  • Leading Edge Strategies-Dubai (UAE)
  • Advanced in Management for the Economy- Johannesburg (SA).
Previous Appointments

Personal Assistant to the Minister for Labour and Productivity.

The Permanent Secretary

Musa Gidado

Name Duration
Alhaji Aliyu Saleh