Ministry of Justice

Click on Each Plus Sign to View the Details
The Ministry of Justice was established on 27th August 1991 and is currently headed by Yusuf Nya Akirikwen ESQ as Commissioner.

Functions of the Ministry

The Ministry was designed primarily for the following functions:

  1. Rendering legal advice to the Government
  2. Rendering legal advice to the Police
  3. Rendering legal advice to M.D.A’s (Ministries, Departments and Agencies).
  4. Prosecution for and on behalf of the State
  5. Defending Government in all suits filed by an individual or corporate bodies.
  6. Litigation and general practice
  7. Drafting legal documents
  8. Representation at ministerial tender boards.

Hon. Yusuf Nya Akirikwen ESQ

Mr Yusuf Nya Akirikwen ESQ Honourable Attorney General/Commissioner for Justice, was born on the 28th June 1958 and hails from Ussa L.G.A. He is married and has four (4) children

He began his education at Native Authority Primary School, Kpambo Puri from 1964-1970 where he gained his first school leaving certificate, Marmara Government Secondary School, Wukari from 1974-1979 and obtained his West African School Certificate.

He attended the University of Maiduguri from 1982-1986 and then proceeded to the Nigerian Law school, Lagos 1986-1987.

Professional Achievements

  1. Chairman, Nigerian Bar, Association, Taraba State Chapter (1995-1999).
  2. Member Governing council, University of Benin (2000-2004).
  3. Member Governing council, Nigerian Institute for Oil Palm Research, Benin city (2000-2004).
  4. Member Taraba state Judicial Service Commission (2000-2004).
  5. Member Presidential Visitation Panel, Federal University of Technology Akure 2004.
  6. Legal Adviser Women and Youth Foundation, Jalingo (2000).
  7. Legal Aid Council Ilorin Kwara State (1987-1988).
  8. Pupil Council and Ahmed Ali A.C.O BeKaji chambers, Yola (1988-1990).
  9. Principal Partner Y.N Akirikwen and Associate (1991 to Date).

Yusuf Nya Akirikwen ESQ has been an active member, PDP Presidential Campaign Team (2003).


  1. Member, PDP primaries National Assembly Appeal Lagos state (2003).
  2. Member, PDP National Reform Committee (Dec 2005-April, 2006).
  3. PDP agent in governorship election, Taraba State ( 14th April 2007).
  4. Delegate, PDP Registration committee Yobe (2005).
  5. PDP Agent for presidential election, Taraba State 21st April 2007.
  6. A Ministerial nominee from Taraba State (2007) and
  7. An Ambassadorial nominee from Taraba state (2007).

He enjoys Reading and Traveling.

Barr. Apwenyang Yamusa Shitta, Acting permanent Secretary in the Ministry, before his appointment he was the Director of Public Prosecutions. He was born on the 9th of September 1960 and hails from Ussa Local Government Area. He is married and has four (4) children.

He began his education at Local Government Authority Primary School Rufu, Ussa Local Government Area from 1968-1974. He proceeded to Government Secondary School, Takum from 1974-1979.

He attended the University of Maiduguri from 1980-1984 for his LLB (Legum Baccalaureus in Law) Hons. And then attained his Barrister at Law (BL) at Nigerian Law school, Victoria Island Lagos from 1984-1985 before advancing to Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria from 2001-2002 for his Masters of International Affairs and Diplomacy (MIAD).

Barrister Shitta received commendation on 27th February, 2014 for diligent handling of a Civil suit between Igbo community association, Dan Anacha, Gassol Local Government Area  vs Federal Government of Nigeria and Taraba State Government before  the Federal High Court, Abuja FCT wherein the state and FGN was saved from paying the sum 14,099,877,826,00 as compensation for the value of their property allegedly looted, destroyed or damaged in the wake of Jukun, Tiv and Fulani crisis of 13th October 2001 at Dan Anacha, Gassol Local Government Area of Taraba State.

He has been involved in numerous Ad hoc responsibilities in various capabilities and his unpublished works include:

  1. The Right to Personal Liberty in Nigeria (1984)(LLB Dissertation)
  2. Nigeria-US: Partnership in Drugs Control and Trafficking, (thesis for Master in International Affair and Diplomacy 2002).

He loves reading, travelling, playing volleyball, drama and also desirous of helping the needy.



Past Commissioners that served in the Ministry are listed below;

Names Duration
Barr. Ahmed Umaru
Barr. Musa A Tende
Barr. G T Kataps
Barr. Sa’adatu M Bello
Barr. I.T Elsudi 2010 – 2011
Barr. Ilesha Nyaro 2007 – 2009
Barr. G.T Kataps 2003 – 2007
Barr. Batsheba Y. Riki 2001 – 2003
Barr. A.I Rudanyuba 1999 – 2001
Barr. Aisha J Bage 1998 – 1999
Barr. Moh’d Baba Dada 1993 – 1996
Barr. Yusuf Aliyu 1991 – 1993
Past Permanent Secretaries that served in the Ministry are given below;

Names Duration
Barr. Magaji Aji 2014 – Date
Barr. Bakari M. Isa 2012 – 2014
Barr. Magaji Aji 2007 – 2012
Barr. Bakari M. Isa 1997 – 2007
Barr. Mike Nyam 1994 – 1997
Barr. Yakubu Tukura 1991 – 1992