Ministry of Health

Click on Each Plus Sign to View the Details
The Ministry of Health was established on August 1991 and is presently under the leadership of Dr. Innocent Vakkai as its Honourable Commissioner and Pharmacist Ibrahim Imam as Permanent Secretary.

Functions of The Ministry

The Ministry is saddled with the following responsibilities;

  1. Protecting the health of the citizens of the state.
  2. Provide health promotion, prevention and curative services.
  3. Formulate health policies.
  4. Regulate activities of public and private sectors health care providers.
  5. Ensure that health activities meet national and international standards.
  6. Collaborate with Training Institutions on manpower (Human Resources for Health) needs in the state.

Achievements of the Ministry

  1. Immunisation programmes with wide coverage.
  2. Mobile Health Clinic (Partnership between the state and MTN).
  3. Temporary Accreditation of College of Nursing and Midwifery by the Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria (NMCN).
  4. Renovation and equipping of Gen. T.Y. Danjuma Health Centre, Takum.
  5. Containment of Lassa fever outbreak.
  6. Assessment of some General/Referral Hospitals for planned renovation and equipping.

Agencies under the Ministry

  • State Primary Health Care Development Agency
  • Health Services Management Board
  • Taraba AIDS Control Agency
  • Essential Drugs Programme
  • College of Nursing and Midwifery, Jalingo
  • College of Health Technology, Takum.
Dr Innocent Vakkai

Dr Innocent Vakkai

Dr. Innocent Vakkai, the Honourable Commissioner of Health hails from Ardo-Kola Local Government Area. He was born on 28th December 1971 and is married with two (2) children.He started his educational career at Lugere Primary School, Jimeta- Yola from 1977-1983 and proceeded to General Murtala Mohammed College, Yola from 1983-1988. He enrolled into Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria from 1990-1998 as well as National Post Graduate Medical College of Nigeria from 2002-2009.

Other Achievements

He is a Consultant Public Health Physician and won the 1st position, Gongola State Young Scientist Competition in 1987. He also won the 1st position, Mathematical quiz competition, Gongola State in 1988 and Head of Nigeria Delegation to Belize Central America.

Workshops Attended

He attended workshops on retro-viral use in the treatment of HIV in the Caribbean and Surveillance Training by World Health Organisation (WHO) in Abuja.


Dr Innocent has the following Publications to his name;

  • Prevalence and Reinfection Rates of Soil-transmitted Helminths among School Children in Ardo-kola Local Government Area of Taraba state.
  • Prevalence of Breast and Cervical cancer among women in Jalingo.

He enjoys playing Lawn Tennis and Reading

The Permanent Secretary

Dr. Musa Obadiah

Past Commissioners of the Ministry are given in the Table below;

Names Duration
Dr. Tafarki Agbadu 2014-2015
Pharm. Oliver Wubon 2013-2014
Prince Mustapha Hamangbdo 2011-2013
Hon. Muhammed Yusuf 2009
Hon. David Tikon 2009
Hon. Mark B. Useni 2007-2008
Dr. Markus Hamidu 2006-2007
Dr. Jonah Wachap 2005-2006
Pharm. Danbaba Suntai 2004-2005
Dr. Philip Duwe 2000-2003
Barr. Sam Tsokwa 1999-2000
Dr. Anthony G. Manzo Nil
Dr. Alfred Yahaya Kobiba 1993
Dr. Peter G. Warwar 1992-1993
Permanent Secretaries that served in the Ministry are listed below;

Names Duration
Mr. Boliga Sanda 2014
Dr. Philip Duwe 2011
Dr. Simion Ambita’a 2006-2011
Engr. Bakari Yero 2005-2006
Dr. Hamidu Moh’d 2000-2005
Mr. Joshua Musa 1999-2000
Mrs. Yelwa H. Mbura 1996-1999
Mr. Ezekiel B. Adashu 1994-1996
Mrs. Veronica Umar 1992-1994
Alh. Shehu Mohammed 1991-1992